UND Introduces Its Issued-patent Recipients As National Academy Of Inventors Members At Awards Ceremony On Campus

National Academy of Inventor Members from UND (left to right): Evguenii Kozliak (Chemistry)Wayne Seames (Chemical Engineering) Michael Moore (AVP, IPCED), Tim Young, Ron Marsh, (Computer Science), Mark Askelson (Atmospheric Sciences).
National Academy of Inventor Members from UND (left to right): Evguenii Kozliak (Chemistry)Wayne Seames (Chemical Engineering) Michael Moore (AVP, IPCED), Tim Young, Ron Marsh, (Computer Science), Mark Askelson (Atmospheric Sciences).

The Intellectual Property Commercialization and Economic Development (IPCED) office at the University of North Dakota recognized University faculty and student inventors, as well as other innovators, at a reception Monday, May 5, at the North Dakota Museum of Art.

“We are quite pleased to be able to recognize UND’s innovators,” said Associate Vice President of IPCED Michael F. Moore. “I am especially happy for those who had patents issue in the last two years to be our inaugural inventor member class recognized by the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) where UND is a charter member.”

Provost Tom DiLorenzo and Vice President for Research and Economic Development Phyllis Johnson offered remarks in recognition of nearly 60 University honorees – researchers, staff and faculty members who have made invention disclosures, filed patent applications, issued patents or executed a license during the past two fiscal years.

Inventors honored as the first UND members of the National Academy of Inventors were: Evguenii Kozliak (Chemistry), Wayne Seames (Chemical Engineering),  Brian Tande (Chemical Engineering), Alena Kubatova (Chemistry), Julia Xiaojun Zhao (Chemistry), Mark Askelson (Atmospheric Sciences), Benjamin Trapnell (Aviation), Chris Theisen (Atmospheric Sciences), Ron Marsh (Computer Sciences), Tim Young (Physics & Astrophysics) and Hassan Reza (Computer Sciences).

Colleges/departments that had inventors honored Thursday: College of Arts & Sciences, the College of Education & Human Development, the John D. Odegard School of Aerospace Sciences, College of Engineering & Mines, and the School of Medicine and Health Sciences, IT Security and the College of Nursing & Professional Disciplines.

Roxanne Vaughan and Jamie Foster, of the School of Medicine and Health Sciences, also were honored for four executed licenses for their “dopamine transporter monoclonal antibody.”

IPCED is responsible for protection and commercialization of University research innovations including aerospace sciences, computer sciences, medicine and health sciences, engineering and physical sciences.

The office drafts, files and prosecutes patent applications for inventions, and works with inventors to define and market technology portfolios of inventions, to promote new business ventures and to build business alliances that will accelerate the transition of inventions to the marketplace.

IPCED is also responsible for drafting and negotiating all of the University’s legal intellectual property agreements, such as confidentiality, material transfer and licensing agreements.

The IPCED office is comprised of Moore, Tara Kopplin licensing associate for the physical sciences; and Ms. Michael Sadler, legal and marketing assistant.

Jason Jenkins, of the UND general counsel’s office, is a registered patent attorney and helps the IPCED office file patent applications for its inventions.

Helpful link: IPCED web site: www.und.edu/dept/ipcomm

National Academy of Inventors web site: http://www.academyofinventors.org/

The National Academy of Inventors is a 501(c)(3) non-profit member organization comprised of U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutions, with over 3,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 200 institutions, and growing rapidly. It was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society.


David L. Dodds
Media Relations Coordinator
Public Relations Group
Division of University and Public Affairs
264 Centennial Drive Stop 7144
Grand Forks, ND 58202-7144
701.777.5529 | 701.777.4616 fax