UND Homecoming’s Sioux Awards Banquet Set For Thursday, Oct. 10

Honorees are Linda Pancratz, Randy Newman, Owen Anderson, Bob and Kristine Solberg, Cassie Gerhardt and Chad Syverson

The Alumni Association & Foundation has chosen four distinguished alumni to receive its highest honor, the Sioux Award. In addition, two deserving alumni have been named Young Alumni Achievement Award winners. Each year, the awards are given based on achievement, service and loyalty.

The Sioux Award Banquet will be held on Thursday, Oct. 10, in the Alerus Center. A social hour starts at 5:30 p.m. with dinner and the awards ceremony starting at 6:30 p.m. Reservations can be made online at www.undalumni.org/siouxaward2013.

The 2013 Sioux Award recipients are:

Linda (Olson) Pancratz, ’76: Linda is Chairman and CEO of Mountain Capital, LLC, an investment company. The Grand Forks native spent much of her professional career in telecommunications, holding several senior management positions with US West. She has served on the UND Alumni Association & Foundation Board of Directors, was chair of the UND Foundation Board and co-chairs the National Campaign Steering Committee for North Dakota Spirit  |  The Campaign for UND.

Randy Newman, ’75, ’79: Randy is President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board for Alerus Financial, N.A., and Alerus Financial Corporation. In 2007 he was awarded the prestigious Henry Havig Award, Grand Forks’ highest community leadership award. He holds positions on the Grand Forks Region Economic Development Corp., UND’s Center for Innovation Foundation Board, Altru Health System’s Corporate Advisory Board, UND’s Business School Advisory Board, and the UND Fellows.

Owen Anderson, ’71, ’74:  Owen is the Eugene Kuntz Chair of Law in Oil, Gas & Natural Resources, the George Lynn Cross Research Professor, and Director of the John B. Turner LL.M. Program in Energy, Natural Resources & Indigenous Peoples Law at The University of Oklahoma College of Law. He is recognized as an expert in international petroleum transactional law.

Bob, ’69 and Kristine Solberg, ’69: Bob is a retired career senior executive of Texaco Inc., where he worked since 1969 and served as president of Upstream Commercial Development from 1998 until 2002. Kristine, a College of Nursing graduate, has taught Lamaze since 1976.  The Solbergs have served on the UND Alumni Association & Foundation Board, the National Campaign Steering Committee for North Dakota Spirit  |  The Campaign for UND, and the College of Nursing & Professional Disciplines Advisory Council.

The 2013 Young Alumni Achievement Awards recipients are:

 Cassie Gerhardt, ’96, ’08: Cassie is the Dean of Students for Student Involvement and Leadership at UND. Cassie has been an active national volunteer for her sorority and currently serves on Alpha Chi Omega’s National Housing Corporation Board of Directors. She is also a member of the Association of Fraternity and Sorority Advisors Foundation Board and the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators Region IV West Advisory Board.

Chad Syverson, ’96: Chad is the J. Baum Harris Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago’s prestigious Booth School of Business. His research spans several topics, with a particular focus on the interactions of firm structure, market structure, and productivity. His work has been published in several top journals and has earned several National Science Foundation Awards, Olin Foundation Grants, and a Brookings Dissertation Fellowship.

David L. Dodds
Media Relations/Writer & Editor
Office of University Relations
264 Centennial Drive Stop 7144
Grand Forks, ND 58202-7144
701.777.5529 | 701.777.4616 fax